Feb 8, 2011 at 7:41 PM

I am new to Razor, just doing some research, and was wondering, why is this project needed (no offense). Trying to figure out where it fits, what Razor lacks, a what is it that this project solves.  Actually, I think this would be a good intro on the home page anyway.

Feb 8, 2011 at 8:04 PM

Lol, well my initial response was going to be "why not?".

RazorEngine is a wrapper around the parser and code generation features of Razor. Razor itself its not the MVC Razor ViewEngine, Razor is a pretty wicked code/markup parser. MVC and Web Pages used Razor a specific way, to generate compilable code from quite a robust template language. There are a number of examples of how to use this parser outside of MVC, and Ben (@BuildStarted) used some example code provided by Andew Nurse (@anurse) to allow you to use the Razor language as a more generalised templating language (think NVelocity, String Template, etc). Since his initial articles, we've expanded on this as a full wrapper around Razor providing templating services. This can go on be used for things like email generation, reporting, etc.  There are some novel ways this is being used, for instance the guys over at Umbraco are using it to provide an alternative macro language provider.

It is by no means a replacement to the MVC ViewEngine (although, with a little work you could do so).

Feb 8, 2011 at 8:10 PM

Great, thanks for a quick answer, I am looking into using razor syntax to generate c# code at the runtime, which would than have to be than compiled (medium trust).  It looks like your project could help me do this get there faster. Do you see any issues I could run into?

Feb 8, 2011 at 8:21 PM